top of page



Principal Investigator


Ryan M. Pearson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

20 N. Pine Street, N525

Baltimore, MD 21201

Dr. Ryan Pearson is an Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Molecular Microbiology & Immunology at the University of Maryland. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy and was a postdoc at the University of Michigan prior to starting his independent career in 2018. Dr. Pearson’s laboratory focuses on developing nanotechnology-based strategies for treating dysregulated immune responses specifically focusing on infectious disease, autoimmunity, and cancer. He has published over 35 peer-reviewed articles on his research in top journals including Biomaterials, Journal of Controlled Release, ACS Nano, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, and Advanced Functional Materials. Dr. Pearson’s significant scientific contributions relate to his development of nanoparticle-based inverse vaccines to induce antigen-specific immune tolerance and his studies evaluating the inherent immunomodulatory properties of polymeric nanomaterials. Dr. Pearson been recognized with several awards and recently received the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy New Investigator Award, American Association of Immunologists Early Career Travel Award, National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education Rising Star Award, and the Shock Society Faculty Research Award. Dr. Pearson is an active member of the Bio- and Nano-technology center and the Computer-Aided Drug Design Center at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, and a member of the Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Pearson serves on the editorial board of Pharmaceutical Research, as faculty advisor for the AAPS UMB Student Chapter, and as the Chair of the Immuno Delivery Focus Group for the Controlled Release Society.

If you are interested in joining the Pearson Lab for Immunomodulatory Biomaterials, please contact Dr. Pearson and attach your CV.

Undergraduate students - we will consider undergraduates to join the lab given a time commitment of 1 year or greater.

Current group members

Postdoctoral Researchers

Jason (Junsik) Sung, Ph.D.

2022 Ph.D. Biomedical Science (Georgia State University (Atlanta, GA))
2016 M.S. Molecular Medicine & Biopharmaceutical Science (Seoul National University, Korea)
2013 B.S. Biology (University of Utah (Salt Lake City, UT))

Graduate Students


Brianna Scotland
5th year PhD Candidate

2018 B.S. Biology (University of the Virgin Islands, STT Campus)


Andrea Cottingham (4th year PhD Candidate)
PSC Fellow

2020 B.S. Chemistry (Salisbury University, MD)

Shaw, Jacob.jpg

Jacob Shaw (4th year PhD Candidate)

2018 B.S. Molecular Biology (Towson University, MD)


Shruti Dharmaraj (3rd year PhD Candidate)

2017 B.S. Biomedical Engineering (New Jersey Institute of Technology)

2019 M.S. Biomedical Engineering (Arizona State University Tempe, AZ)

Honorary Lab Members

bottom of page